Every moment of icyelite’s life

Just for you, to be a wonderful lady

Vegetarian Creamy Mushroom Soup

Posted by icyelite on September 15, 2008

Recently, I had an interest in cooking creamy mushroom soup. I searched high and low for a vegetarian creamy mushroom soup recipe, finally I found one at The Modern Vegetarian Recipes. This is the only recipe that I had found without any onions or garlics.

My creamy mushroom soup

Tadaa! This is my creamy mushroom soup. Does it looks similar to the recipe’s picture? Well, it looks quite similar but the taste is still not something that I wanted. My brother says it does not taste creamy enough. Not sure what it is lacking of? I did not use instant powder like campbell soup because I am not sure of the ingredients in the campbell soup. So the best way is to do it from scratch so I know what are the small small ingredients that can make up a wonderful creamy mushroom soup.

Recipe of Vegetarian Creamy Mushroom Soup

Ingredients:

Fresh White Button Mushroom, Coarsely chopped
Margarine
Water
Unsweetened Soy Milk
Plain Flour
Salt
Pepper
Herbs

Preparations:

  1. Chopped the fresh white button mushroom coarsely.
  2. Fry the mushroom with margarine.
  3. Boil the water in a pot.
  4. When the water has boiled, pour in the unsweetened soy milk.
  5. Add in the flour slowly while continuously stirring.
  6. Make sure it is well-mixed.
  7. Put in the mushroom, herbs, salt and pepper.
  8. Continue stirring until the soup has thickened.

Tips:

  • Can put in some ham to increase the taste of the soup, more things to bite and adds in slight brown color to the soup

Finishing: Scoop out a bowl of the creamy mushroom soup. Garnish it with some herbs. Serve it together with toasted bread and black pepper (optional).

Not very satisfied with my first try, I will try cooking it one more time. Aim to make it taste more creamy!

4 Responses to “Vegetarian Creamy Mushroom Soup”

  1. vege said

    Hi you can try adding mushroom powder to your recipe even when you are cooking western food. I use it in pasta which normally uses onions or garlic in the recipe. The mushroom powder makes the cream source really yummy.

  2. […] mushroom you can taste it at Roma Deli, Simple Food, etc that serves mushroom soup. This is a different recipe from my previous mushroom soup. Felt excited when I find the real ingredients used by these stores.  The main ingredient of the […]

  3. Creativecottage cheese recipestips…

    […]Vegetarian Creamy Mushroom Soup « Every moment of icyelite’s life[…]…

  4. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!

    It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
